Our summer worship has ended for 2016. Thanks to all who made this year's services and special anniversary celebration possible, including the members, friends and guests who make up our congregation, preachers, scripture readers, coffee hour servers and bakers, floral arrangers, luncheon hosts, musicians and members of the Session, who planned and coordinated the services. 

Rev. Alexandra Lusak & James Brookens, Coordinators
Rev. Shannan Vance-Ocampo
Rev. Dr. Shaun Whitehead
Rabbi Norman Mendel
Rev. Dr. Jon Walton
Rev. Dr. James Calvin Davis
Barbara Wheeler
Rev. Eric Jackson
Rev. Richard Spalding
Rev. Alexandra Lusak
Rev. Donna Schaper
Rev. James Miller
Joanna Bull 

Gayle Burgess
Melissa McGrath

Mary Jane Schroeder
Joanne Steele
James Brookens
Melissa McGrath
Muriel Frasher

Jan Bishop, Music Director

Jan Bishop
Jenny Moak 

Special Music

Village Voices
Rose Hargrave
Harry Pellegrin
Emeleigh Tanner
Sarah Nelson Weiss
Laurie Fischer 
Phillipa Dunne
Dennis Winslow

Coffee Hour Bakers
Sue Arbit, Scott Walsh & Armando Chavez, Coordinators
Muriel Frasher
Mary Jane Schroeder
Melissa McGrath
Joanne Steele
Robert & Nancy Lynk
Diana Hinchcliff

Luncheon Hosts
Mary Jane Schroeder, Coordinator
Dennis Winslow & Mark Lewis
Karen Greendale & Zeva Greendale
Sue Arbit & Gayle Burgess
Dardis McNamee, Dan McNamee & Simon Ballam
Alan Wilson & Diana Dietrich
Melissa & Kevin McGrath

Videographer & Photographers for Anniversary Service
Richard Tollner, video and photos
John Eldridge, photos

Members of the Session
Rev. Alexander Lusak, Moderator
James Brookens
Gayle Burgess
Muriel Frasher
Diana Hinchcliff
Melissa McGrath, Clerk of Session
Mary Jane Schroeder

Jon Walton is a graduate of Macalester College in St. Paul, Minnesota.  He earned his M.Div. degree at Union Theological Seminary, New York City and his D.Min. degree at San Francisco Theological Seminary, San Anselmo, California.  He has previously served congregations in New Canaan, Connecticut; Setauket, New York; and Wilmington, Delaware.   He is the former co-moderator of the Covenant Network of Presbyterians and continues to serve as a member of the board.  A noted preacher, he has spoken at some of America’s most well known pulpits including the Washington National Cathedral,  and innumerable college, seminary, and conference settings.  His lectures and sermons are published in a wide variety of sermon anthologies, books on preaching, and articles in professional journals.  He is the author of the book, Imperfect Peace: Teaching Sermons on Troubling Texts. - See more at: http://www.fpcnyc.org/about-us/pastoral-staff/getting-to-know-the-pastors.html#sthash.7DqSI0rf.dpuf
220th Anniversary Celebration Service

A service of remembrance and celebration in observance of the 220th anniversary of the first service of worship in our first church building on September 11, 1796 was held on September 11, 2016.

Moderator Rev. Alexandra Lusak officiated. Rev. James Miller brought greetings from former moderator Rev. Robert Lamar and spoke about his own term as moderator. Members of the Session read remembrances from former moderators Rev. Donna Elia and Rev. Joseph Shook, passages from scripture and excerpts from the church history authored by Barbara Dudley and Nancy Chase. The Village Voices sang, led by church Music Director and organist Jan Bishop.

Four new members were received into the church during the service: Dardis McNamee, Simon Ballam, Scott Walsh and Armando Chavez. 

A gala reception followed in Conkling Hall.  

Anniversary Service Program

Montage of Anniverary Service Photos by John Eldridge: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psvY2c2ikKM

Whether you are a person of faith, questioning faith or no faith, you are welcome in our church and at our services.  We are inclusive and nonjudgmental.

Please see the "All Are Welcome" tab on this website for a special invitation.


Email us at: rvillepreschurch@gmail.com.

Modify Website

© 2000 - 2017 powered by
Doteasy Web Hosting